Personal Events and Stories

Stumbling Upon Griddlers.net Once Again

Toggle
In case you don't know me, I'm just a humble Griddler author who made 850 or so puzzles between December 2008 and May 2010. Perhaps you've tried some in my long series of puzzles featuring the "Alien" (my avatar) or been stumped by my handful of difficult small color Griddlers.

Anyway, I just stumbled upon this site again. It was amazing to read years upon years of built up comments.

I just want to share my story of how Griddlers.net touched my life...

I put a lot of effort into Griddler puzzles during 2009. This was the end of my senior year in high school and my first semester in college, where I attended Massachusetts Institute of Technology. I didn't really realize it at the time (I think nobody does, that is the nature of the disease), but I was very depressed during this time period.
During my semester at MIT, my father was diagnosed with severe skin cancer and I had to go on leave from the school to assist my family in taking care of him. This of course did nothing good for my depression, which was also diagnosed around this time. Thinking about and making Griddlers was a welcome distraction from the realities of my father's Chemotherapy and my constant bleak mood. Logging in every once in a while to read encouraging comments of people who enjoyed my puzzles got me through a very tough time in my life.

I am not really sure, but in May I very suddenly dropped off the face of Griddlers.net. Perhaps it represented time wasted during my depression, or something else that I did not like, but I remember suddenly not wanting to go on the site. My father passed away from his illness a few months later and during the subsequent months and years I had no desire to do anything, online puzzle games included.

Now that I am re-applying to college 4 years later and feeling much better, I wanted to take the time to remember all the good memories I have of this site: